Mabuhay Squad

Standard

Mabuhay Squad is making their mark! It has been defined on Urban Dictionary! For those of you who are not in the loop, go ahead check it out to learn more about the what the Mabuhay Squad is all about!

Source: Urban Dictionary: Mabuhay Squad

This is a special thing for me because it allows me to become part of a culture that I, myself, have easily come to love very much. For starters, my wife is native to the Philippines. I have already learned so much from her in our time together. I remember the first time I started learning how to speak Tagalog. As I started learning the basics several years ago, she taught me a Filipino hand game called the nanay, tatay. Which translates to mother, father.

“Nanay, Tatay, gusto ko tinapay
Ate, Kuya, gusto ko kape,
Lahat ng gusto ko ay susundin niyo.
Sinong sasali sa larong ito?
Ang magkamali ay pipingutin ko…”

I enjoy immersing myself in another culture entirely, and without reservation. Especially when it comes to my wife. The Pinoy culture is now a part of who I am, an extension of myself. I’ve embraced it fully, from pointing with my lips to speaking fluent Tagalog, karaoke microphone in hand.

Mabuhay!

Leave a Reply

